Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2021 [Fully Funded]

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2021 [Fully Funded]

The Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship is a fully-funded scholarship available to deserving students from developing countries. This scholarship is funded by the Foreign Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) to broaden and expand the interests of international students.

Participants from Commonwealth countries will receive training in key development areas in their home countries. All candidates must have the ability to make a positive difference in their communities. They should possess leadership qualities as well as the necessary knowledge to contribute to a worthwhile cause.

  • find 100% scholarship

Scholars who receive this Commonwealth scholarship will have their tuition fees waived in full. Besides, if necessary, additional grants for educational support will be provided. A candidate who has already received an award, bursary, or scholarship from another source will be disqualified.

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2021

Key details of this scholarship are given below:

Host Country

As this is a distance learning program, the host country will be your home country. This will be virtual education in your home country.

Funded By

The Foreign Commonwealth and Development Office funds the Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship.

Upcoming Scholarships For The Academic Year 2021-2022

Degree Level

The scholarship is awarded only at a Masters degree program.

Areas of Scholarships

The scholarship is awarded in the below fields of study:

  • Access, inclusion, and opportunity
  • Science and technology for development
  • Strengthening health systems and capacity
  • Promoting global prosperity
  • Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  • Strengthening global peace, security, and governance
Application Fee Waivers

Benefits of Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2021, UK

The advantage of opting for this scholarship is given below:

  • The candidate would be provided with a full tuition fee waiver.
  • Additional funds to support the education will be provided.

Eligible Countries

These are commonwealth countries. Candidates from these countries are eligible for the scholarship:

  • Bangladesh
  • Cameroon
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sri Lanka
  • Eswatini
  • Tanzania
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia

Australian Awards Scholarships 2021 – 2022

Eligibility Criteria of Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships

The candidate will be required to comply with the following criteria:

  • Candidates from the countries mentioned above are eligible to apply.
  • A candidate must be a permanent citizen and should be residing in his home country.
  • They must have at least a 2:1 (second-class) Bachelors degree or equivalent.
  • A candidate must have an offer letter while applying.

Application and Deadline of the Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship 2021

This is a two-part process.

PART ONE:   Apply to the programme at the university, search for your eligible Online Masters of choice.

To secure an offer, you must meet the University of Edinburgh entry requirements, including demonstrating English language competency.

Deadline 1: 16:00 BST on Monday 12th April 2021

PART TWO:  Once you have received an offer from the University of Edinburgh, apply to the Commonwealth Scholarships through their online application system.

Before applying, please be sure to read the Eligibility Information on the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission website.

Remember you must include all supporting documentation.

Deadline 2: 17:00 BST on Monday 26th April 2021.

List Of Scholarships 2021 – All you need to know!


Here, we have answered some questions about the Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships.

Q1. How do I apply for a Commonwealth master scholarship?

Ans. Apply online either at the Ministry of Education portal: or on the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission’s Online Application System (OAS):

  • find 100% scholarship

Q2. Who can apply for Commonwealth Scholarship?

Ans. To apply for a Commonwealth Scholarship, you must be a citizen or permanent resident of a Commonwealth country. You will still be eligible if you are a refugee or British protected person. You also need to have an undergraduate honours degree of at least upper second class (2:1).

Q3. Can I stay in the UK after Commonwealth Scholarship?

Ans. If you have a tier 4 (student) visa, you get four months after your course expected end date to stay in the UK. The commonwealth scholarship holder will have to return to India (their home country) after completing 1-year masters in the UK.

We truly hope we were able to resolve any queries you might have had.

Good luck!